Ilini Legend List and Folklore: 1988 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championship | Sports

On this day in the history of men’s golf at the University of Illinois, Edviad coach Irini won the school’s Big Ten Team title for the first time in 47 years, surpassing the runner-up Ohio by 20 strokes.

Savoy’s 6,596-yard orange course victory marked Ohio’s sixth straight first-place finish. The Illinois team’s victory limited sensational improvements from the last place just three seasons before 1985.

Senior Mike Small and Don Edwards, junior Steve Stricker and sophomore Kevin Fairfield and Heath Crawford’s Irini Quintet will join the back-eye team led by Chris Smith and Anthony Adams. I was overwhelmed.

Stricker’s four rounds, a total of 279 par 9 unders, earned medalist honors, including 69 rounds and 3 out of 70 strokes. He was 14 shots better than Smith and his teammate Small.

Very windy conditions made the final day of the competition even more difficult.

“I remember the wind blowing in my tent,” Beard said. “Steve and Mike both played the last nine holes in strong winds, but we were used to it.”

Small agreed with the coach, “I think the wind was transmitted to other teams and really ruined them.”

The last Big Ten Championship in 1940 and 41, Illinois won its seventh team title.

Catch up with five Illinois 1988 Championship team members:

Steve Stricker:

  • Originally from Edgerton, Wisconsin, he enjoys his sensational professional career, winning 12 PGA Tour titles out of 30 victories. Stricker finished five times in the top five in the major championships, second in the 1998 PGA, fourth in the 2016 British Open, fifth in the 1998 and 1999 US Open, and the 2009 Masters Tournament. I came in 6th place. He was the captain of the US Ryder Cup team and led his team to victory in his home state.

Mike Small:

  • He has been a four-time letter winner from Danville and has been the head coach of Irini since the 2000-01 season. He led Illinois to 12 big ten titles. This includes the last seven. A record 12-time Big Ten Coach of the Year, Small continues to be an outstanding player, winning three PGA of America titles, four Illinois Open titles, and 13 Illinois PGA titles.

DON EDWARDS: Former UI trustee founded Flexpoint Ford, a private equity investment company, in 2005. In 2020, he and his wife, Ann

  • Promised a $ 10 million gift to his alma mater, and the funds were distributed to the Gies College of Business, the Discovery Partners Institute, the Ubben Basketball Complex, and the Illini Golf Program.


  • After earning a degree in mechanical engineering from Illinois, Crawford continued his education at Purdue University with a master’s degree in operations management and supervision. His career took him to Maryland, Kentucky and Tennessee. He is currently an Operational Excellence Change Agent at Ingersoll Rand in Clarksville, Tennessee.

Kevin Fairfield:

  • Fairfield, who was Irini’s letter winner from 1987 to 1990, was the top performer of his senior team and was named the All Big Ten Team with an average of 74.1 strokes per round. In April 2001, he died at the age of 33 after a cancer attack.

Irini’s birthday

Sunday: Morgan O’Brien, Volleyball

Monday: Art Sitkowski, Soccer (22)

Tuesday: Steve Green, Soccer (68)

Wednesday: Kevin Anderson, Tennis (36)

Thursday: Randy Rogers, Football (75)

Friday: Mark Jackson, Soccer (41)

Saturday: Ed Obradovic, Soccer (82)

By Mike Pearson, author of Illini Legends, Lists & Lore (3rd edition now available in stores). Get daily information on Illini’s birthdays, trivia quizzes and historical information on Twitter @IlliniLegends and @ Spartanfacts2022.His website is

Ilini Legend List and Folklore: 1988 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championship | Sports

Source link Ilini Legend List and Folklore: 1988 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championship | Sports

Related Articles

Back to top button